Bank Holiday DIY Ideas

DIY that transforms bland and borring rooms into snazzy and super cool but undertaken in a lazy Sunday afternoon kind of way is the name of the game this holiday weekend. Quick fix ideas which are very boutique hotel in feel and that add instant style ratings are what we are after.

Spraying flea market find furniture, or reworking furniture you already have and turning it into an unconventional playful installation adds instant wow factor. I picked up this console at an auction house for very little money and gave it a top to toe glamorous make over. You can also paint it in the glossiest of hues to get a very similar effect. My advice is to go for colour – satuarated brights add punch and believe me colours can clash.

Minimalism is a thing of the past – the future is fun, eclectic, whimisical and supremly chic!

Happy Decorating

Photography Mads Mogensen, Styling Martina Hunglinger

Photography Mads Mogensen, Styling Martina Hunglinger

Want stairs with flair – try nailing an assortment of old rugs easily picked up at charity shops and auctions to your stairs for make for a truely global feel. Not only does this inject funkiness it gives them a luxurious, eclectic and boutique kind of feel.

2BarnabasRoad03_12

14 thoughts on “Bank Holiday DIY Ideas

  1. love the stairs idea, re-using old materials and turning them into something new is what we do so the old rugs idea really appeals to us. the black stairs look good too, we have just painted our kitchen floorboards with f&b pitch black and it looks so cool – alot of friends thought we were mad painting our floor black but we love it.

  2. I’m inspired to paint a dark stand in the same vivid red as the console…I’d love to know what paint was used?

    • Thank you – its a fab red but not I hate to say from a paint can. I originally painted it a standard red and then on a trip to Liberty’s in London got inspired by some of their vintage pieces which looked as if they has been almost lacquered, they were so glamouroulsy glossy it gave me an idea – car paint. I hiked my console to a local garage and asked them to spray it for me – its Ford Mondeo Red!

  3. Hi Abigail – I’m wondering if you’d be willing to share more of your experience with the paint sprayer? I have encountered quite a few who are unwilling to work with wood. Did you find that? Also, what sort of variation in prices were you quoted? I’m down in NZ, and much appreciate the work that you do! Thanks – Jo

    • The sprayer I brought when working on my book was a really cheap one from a DIY store – it takes a while to get to grips with, I really had to thin the paint with white spirit to stop it clogging and it took a good few coats. Another trick of the trade is to take whatever wood item you have to a car sprayer (the one I use in the East End of London is sooo reasonable) and they will spray it with car spray to give your product a really beautiful lacquered yet hard wearing finish.

  4. Ha Ha, I didn’t think of a “paint sprayer” as a thing rather than a “person” ! Have been phoning around some car garages here in Wellington and a few seem to want me to strip all varnish from wood before they will spray it lacquer finish for me — wondered if that was standard. I think I will keep phoning round and comparing prices, too. Btw, I just ordered your book from BookDepository (free shipping worldwide!) and can’t wait for it to arrive.

    • Thank you for ordering the book – hope you love it. Yes you could stripe it but I must admit I never do – my sprayer sprays with quite a few coats and being car paint it is incredibly hard wearing.

  5. I have an oak desk tht I am now thinking of spray painting white – quick question – do you oxidant the side if the drawers? Will they ‘run’ if they are painted?

    • You should sand and prime the desk first – and if you are spraying yourself practice on something first because when I first sprayed a lamp everything ran – it takes a little time to get it right

Leave a Reply

