Adding a high voltage jolt

Sometimes we need a pick up me, this morning I know I do. Long hours stuck at the computer is driving me a little nuts – have had the first cup of coffee of the day (that hasn’t really helped) possibly need a massage or (crazy idea) a holiday!!  Haven’t had one of those in years but enough on me. I’m in a moany kind of mood this morning- no time for holidays until possibly October when I might on my way back from Australia just might be able to stop in Thailand for a night or two to swim in the ocean. I said that last year and it didn’t happen so am guessing it probably won’t happen this year either but here’s to hoping.

Our homes also need a pick me up, you know the feeling sometimes when you walk into one of your rooms and think it’s missing something – like a risotto without the seasoning it feels a little bland. Have no fear I have the answer, what you need or your rooms need is a jolt of unexpected colour. It will lift the spirits and raise the bar; it will give your room an unexpected twist. Here is the hard part, you’ve got to have confidence you can’t plump for a namby pamby kind of a hue – we need high voltage knock your socks off sort of  colours – like saffron, burnt orange, bright bright red, magenta.  Flowers in this colour, vases, a cushion, maybe an occasional table or chairs like below, if you can go big (like the odd piece of furniture) it will take your space to a whole other level. Accessories are great don’t get me wrong but it won’t give you that TA DA moment because they are simply not large enough.

Image below by Mark Gregory Peters o and I have the feeling that that red cabinet is by Ikea, used something very similar for the Channel 4 show not so long ago.

I’m done, should be at yoga but can’t stand it, so I should be swimming but I don’t fancy it – told you it was a moany kind of a day!

13 thoughts on “Adding a high voltage jolt

  1. Thanks for another inspiring post, i was thinking of a pop of colour and was thinking about a feature wall/fireplace but am not sure is that is dated?
    You’re right about the cabinet, it’s from Ikea, i had one previously in white.
    I hope your mood lifts, you have a new shop to decorate (the joy!)

    • I don’t think so, I know people can be a little snobby about feature walls but I really have no problem with them, going to do something in the new store with wallpaper on one wall so don’t listen to the nay sayers, at least thats what I think

  2. Thanks for yesterday,that’s me all over bottle out at last minute(French grey not dark).when you see the pictures it really changes my view.ive been looking at that red cabinet for weeks in your first picture,can’t wait till 9 am going straight to get it,
    What would we all do without you.xx

  3. I do enjoy your posts every morning, always provide a good dose of useable inspiration, straightforward chatter and humor. Usually about what you should be doing (exercise) but can’t be bothered to, so funny, you think you should because it’s good for you but not because you enjoy it…. bit like eating brussels!!!

    Off to TK Maxx to find large colorful item, doesn’t matter what, my room WILL go TA DA!

  4. Actually there is quite a lot of Ikea there. The rattan lounger, the lights and the chairs are all Ikea. Just goes to show how good they can look when they are mixed up with vintage furniture.
    re: feeling moany – I prescribe a walk in the park with M&M. I’m just about to do that myself. (Although, as my ‘baby’ is an 11month old Goldendoodle, it is more of a bounce in the park!)

  5. I’m glad you posted this because we just bought that red cabinet which is indeed from Ikea and it was by mistake as it was supposed to be a white one. I decided to assemble it anyway and it does look really nice having that shock of colour (I love colour anyway but was planning only on having brightly coloured accessories as our new apartment is not huge). But it’s an attractive red and now I’ve decided to add other bright red touches around the apartment as I like it so much!

  6. Abi, I adore your style, you are definately my fave-go to designer for accessory styling, etc., but I so hesitate about doing my walls inky dark colours, because we live in San Diego (think sun, sand and surf, lots of outdoors and nature, rather than gritty, urban & edgy), and it is just summery here practically all year round (even our winters are nice) and I’m sooooooooooooo hesitant to put the dark walls up as I’m worried I’ll feel like we’re living in a jail cell/a bleak grey box!…do you have any pearls of wisdom to share on this subject? xo :)

    • Lots of words of wisdom firstly it won’t feel like that – a dark palette looks beautiful in sunny climes, have a look on google or on my blog on Adler’s beach house he has gone quite dark . The key I think is to accessorise with lots of summery hues, limes, scarlets that sort of thing. I would start with painting one wall out if you are worried – inky grey, midnight blue – ralph lauren if I recall do some lovely hues, you will find that everything you have will really pop out and it won’t feel cell like or opressive just remember to act bright accents and I will look amazing, promise!

  7. Pingback: Leftovers | Japanese Trash

Leave a Reply

