Creative ways to display art

I talk about art alot since its one of those things that immediately makes a home feel more lived in and personal. If you don’t have the largest collection in the world, or if you fancy doing things a little differently there are all sorts of cool and funky ways to display. I for one don’t have enough art and am always on the hunt for new emergying artists, talking of which if anyone knows any cool artists do let me know as we are going to be exhibiting in the new store cool, but reasonable art that you can buy without taking the bank manager out for a drink first!

So some interesting ways to display, for  a casual vibe consider just plonking art on the floor, or shelves, or mantles it immediately makes a space feel more relaxed and chilled if you don’t hang.

In front of a bookcase (the Americans do this alot) and it makes for an interesting layered look, particularly great if some of  your tomes are of the Barbara Cartland variety or you don’t have quiet enough. I bang on about it all the time but the more layers you add the more interesting your space will become.

Picture ledges are great particularly for hallways, and passageways, whenever I have a second off (possibly 2014 the rate things are going) I am planning on doing something similar in my hallway. That is leaning pictures on the ledge and on the floor below – super cool.

Also whilst Stateside I visited a very cool apartment with art nailed to the back of the a door  looked amazing. Regrettably I can’t show you just yet, you will have to wait for the second book which gets published a bit earlier than I originally told you, February 2014 is now the plan  which is super exciting providing I can write the text in the next few weeks.

Note to self move wake up call from 4.30 am to 3.30 am, and buy a heap more coffee!

Have a great weekend, its a working one of us apart from a little respite in the evening on Saturday we are taking my parents to the Tow Path for a fab super as a thank you for looking after the bow wows.

PS there are spelling mistakes and grammar mistakes I am sure, (for which I apologise) writing this at the rate of knots as have the craziest day ahead.

32 thoughts on “Creative ways to display art

  1. Hi Abigail, an old friend of mine does the most amazing paintings, he has only just started selling the canvases but some of them are big big big! (Which I love). His prints have been put onto t-shirts for Browns and his most recent big break was his print on trousers being worn by Cheryl Cole on her new music video! He’s very up and coming and I think you might like his abstract colourful paintings.

    Here’s a link,
    http://www.ramzimusa.com/index.html

    Fay
    x

  2. Hi Abigail, you might want to pop over to Apartment therapy blog and have a look at their unconventional ways to hang art. Just saying.

      • So sorry Abigail, I did not mean to come across like I was having a go at you. I love your blog and look forward to your daily posts, in fact I have enrolled to do your masterclass here in Melbourne in September and cant wait for all your creative genius.

      • Please think nothing of it, I was tired, on a short fuse. I very much look forward to seeing you in Melbourne its in October though not September, we’ve got a London one running in September so just double checking you’re booked in for the right one?

      • Thanks, just realised I wrote September instead of October, I’ve had a couple of 4.30 starts myself this week doing some styling for a photo shoot for the interiors store I work for here in Melbourne called The Assembly Hall, so feeling a bit fuzzy myself. Look forward to meeting you.
        Gael

  3. Was very interested to read this and see images, as I’m just working on my display for an exhibition I’m doing in November and I’m trying to get all ideas I can – so thanks. Could you do another post on creative ways to display sculpture! Be perfect for me!

    • I didn’t steal an article from apartment therapy I forgot to credit them. I get up up at 4.30 to work, write this blog, have a heap on, so much on you literally have no idea and in pulling 18 hour days and bashing stuff out I forgot to credit. There was no intention to steal from Apartment Therapy, I’ve talked about this stuff in the school for months, I just used their images and forgot, accidentally to credit. I know apartment therapy, I respect them totally and love their site. Its as simple as that, its amazing that I even manage to write the blog and your email has just made me wonder why I do so at all.

  4. I can’t believe how many people have brought up the Apartment therapy thing, its not like the blog is exactly the same..its clearly a credit thing!….anyway..love the blog, just found it and I’m also intrigued at you’re frequent 4.30AM days…why don’t you do an average ‘day in the life of me’ kind of post, something I’d definitely like to read!

  5. Got two new ideas, the ledges in the hallway and the back of a door! Seldom do I run into anything new anywhere. Thanks for providing and passing on fresh ideas.

  6. Looking forward to book number 2! Love the idea of art propped up on ledges. Be great when you do your masterclasses in NZ – no pressure!

  7. Abigail, dont listen to greg, hes just very rude. You are amazing and so dedicated to your work. Love your blog always. Well done! X

  8. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

