Talking curtains

Had the first lunch of the year outside on the terrace yesterday. It was just, only just warm enough. Home made pizza, Sunday papers, good strong coffee and happy as Larry! The whole weekend was spent messing around with the garden (more neighbour problems. different neighbour this time with a different set of problems). One side at the back of the garden has been exposed (and you know how funny I am about seeing even a roof top) so trellis had to go up, and a whizz to the nursery where I brought the quickest growing climber on earth and that is only half of it. Won’t bore you with everything else that has to be done.

Down to business, I thought I would talk about curtains this morning, something I rarely touch upon since for ages I’ve had an aversion to them. However I am coming round slowly but surely and whilst I am not about to put curtains up in any of my rooms (apart from possibly the bedroom) I know many people have them and love them so lets discuss. Obviously this is personal and you don’t have to listen to me but I prefer curtains with clean lines so literally no frills, minimal puddles, no swags or god forbid lambrequins (decorative valances), just simple simple. I generally go for a solid hue without pattern, although my parents brought some bookcase curtains from H&M recently and they look fab! The unfussier you go, the unfussier your room will look. So I tend to think of them as a lovely embellishment, like a piece of jewellery that doesn’t overwhelm what’s going on  just subtlety enhances it.

A couple of images below of curtains which I happen to adore.

bedroom

This is made from burlap a super cheap material (burlap) and I have to say  looks pretty amazing, particularly against the dark hue.

curtains

Same house but different room and a more expensive material. Cashmere, solid in hue and extremely elegant adds a layer of softness and luxury that you just wouldn’t get if you left unadorned.

We’ve got (as some of you know I am sure) a double height glass wall at the back of house with no window treatment, which is why getting back to gardens I am obsessive about the back since its like one big curtain with jasmine, bamboo and huge trees screening us not from just neighbours but also from any odd ugly building. I shall say no more on that front, other than I’m planting the hell out of our garden so never again will I have to deal with it!

13 thoughts on “Talking curtains

  1. Ikea have some super cheap curtains almost identical to those on the second picture, wonderful charcoal colour. Lacking in the body, but I bought double the amount I needed and effectively lined one with the other. Still a bargain!

  2. Hi, Abigail. Take a look at the Paramount Plants website. They are in Crews Hill and stock the best selection of gigantic screening. Also, the renowned exotic gardener, Myles Challis works there on certain days. It’s work taking a look! I, too, will do anything not to be overlloked. Good job I like jungle-style gardening! Enjoy your day (and privacy!).

  3. I have similar feelings about curtains but living in a house that faces directly onto a main road and being unable to sleep in anything but complete darkness means I’ve had to find something to cover the windows. Downstairs I’ve used Jali for fretwork shutters which give a screen of privacy without covering the windows too heavily. I’ve also had curtains made from this Timney Fowler fabric, I do love a quirky print on curatins http://www.timney-fowler.com/collection/new-additions/ancestral-lineage-wp.htm

  4. I bought the H&M bookcase panel curtains last year as an inexpensive alternative to the Deborah Bowness wallpaper. They really do look amazing used as a flat panel!

  5. Thanks goodness, someone else with an aversion to curtains. I totally agree, the plainer the better. Then they just look so much more elegant and luxurious. Once I specified some felt curtains for a client and they looked very cool. I also once had to design full on drapes with gold and diamante tiebacks. Thought I was going to pass out!

  6. Hi Abi, I’m a self confessed curtain luster. I agree no frills or trills- but am not adversed to a straight edged pelmet. Too much still? I love the clever burlap ones in the photo and think they would look amazing with your dark hue walls.

  7. I actually love plain curtains. If they are done right they are fab and can look incredible. A bit like wallpaper if it’s good it can give you goose bumps and if it’s bad then you also get goose bumps but for all the wrong reasons! I have grey raw silk ones in my living room and a shot aqua ones in the bedroom and they both totally transformed the rooms. Took the space to another level.

Leave a Reply

